Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oatmeal Stuffed Squash

I’m always looking for new and interesting ways to eat my oatmeal, so it is very unlikely that you will see me make the same thing again. I’m the oatmeal queen in my house-hold, and I’m always experimenting with new flavor combinations, or new ways to cook and/or make my oatmeal.

For my next trick, I present to you Overnight Oatmeal. I love overnight oatmeal especially in the summer-time because it’s sometimes too hot in the morning. I don’t really like cold cereal because it doesn’t keep me as satisfied as oatmeal, so overnight oats are great and easy to prepare the night before.

This time I tried something new and daring. I made Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats and stuffed it inside the other half of my sweet dumpling squash that I had leftover from dinner the night before. If that isn’t festive enough for Fall, then I don’t know what is. When I told my mother what was in store for my breakfast, she of course looked at me oddly and asked “Where do you put it all?!” I’m a tiny little thing, but I have a big appetite for breakfast. It’s my favorite meal of the day (besides dessert that is). Lunch is my least favorite, and also my lightest meal, so generally breakfast and dinner are my big meals.

Can I just tell you right now though, you NEED to try this. That is all.

Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oatmeal Stuffed Squash

oatmealsquash (3)

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup MyOatmeal Graham Cracker Oatmeal
  • 1/3 cup water (or milk of choice)
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 tbsp. sugar-free maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Tiny pinch of pumpkin spice (optional)
  • 1/2 of a baked squash (sweet dumpling, acorn, carnival, kabocha, etc.)

Instuctions:

  1. Cut your squash in half, and remove all seeds. Coat with non-stick cooking spray or coconut oil, and sprinkle with stevia, cinnamon, pumpkin spice, and any other spices as desired. Place your squash halves face-down in a baking dish and fill with some water so it covers the bottom. Bake in the oven at 375 F for 45-50 minutes.
  2. While your squash is baking, prepare your overnight oats. Mix all your ingredients together, and store in a bowl or mason jar, cover, and place in the fridge overnight.
  3. The next morning, pour your overnight oatmeal inside one of your squash halves. Garnish with any additional toppings as desired (peanut butter, maple syrup, cinnamon, raisins, nuts, chocolate chips, etc.)

Oatmeal Stuffed Squash

Macros:

  • Calories: 265 kcal
  • Carbs: 58 g
  • Protein: 7 g
  • Fiber: 8 g
  • Fat: 2 g
Leave a Reply

