Spaghetti Squash with Lentil Marinara

Who says you can’t get healthy “fast food?”

I came home from work yesterday, and slipped my flip-flops on to head straight out the door. Where was I going? To get a pedicure. These past few days were brutal for me. At work I’m on my feet all day, so it was time to give myself AND my feet a treat. Conveniently so, the super-market was right next door to the salon, and I picked up a rotisserie chicken and some pre-made mashed potatoes to serve to my father for dinner.

Healthy fast food for father, but what about for me?

Spaghetti Squash

One of the simplest and quickest things you can whip up for dinner.

To cook your squash: First you need to pierce some holes into your squash. Then, steam your squash in your microwave for about 5-8 minutes (depending on the size of your squash – it may take up to 10 minutes). Next, you will cut your squash in half (width-wise), and remove all the seeds. Then using a fork you will make your “spaghetti” strands, and transfer to a medium skillet coated with cooking spray or a bit of olive oil.

Then everything else is easy and fast. I was inspired by Chocolate Covered Katie’s Spaghetti Squash Chili, and made my own deviations with the ingredients I had in my house. I mixed in one can of Amy’s brand Lentil Soup, tomato paste, nutritional yeast and salt & pepper, and cooked that on the stove-top until everything was hot.

spagsqaush2

I paired it with some roasted Brussels sprouts (also inspired by Katie) which she calls Candy Veggies. I coated my Brussels sprouts in coconut oil, and seasoned them with rosemary, oregano, garlic and salt & pepper. Then I baked these in the oven at 400 F for about 25 minutes since they were already cooked. If you use raw sprouts, then I suggest to roast these for at least 30-40 minutes.

spagsqaush

spagsqaush3

What is your favorite healthy “fast food” to eat?

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash with Lentil Marinara

Leave a Reply

