Skinny Eggplant Parmesan

It’s a hot and humid day, and you just got home from work.

The last thing you want to think about is cooking dinner, am I right?

If it were up to me, I could live on overnight oats, ice cream and cold salads all summer long.
But that wouldn’t be too healthy, would it?

Most days when I get home from work and the gym, it’s past 5 pm. and I really don’t feel like cooking dinner. Usually, I will resort to a nice salad, or I will microwave a quick and easy dinner which usually includes a veggie burger, sweet potato, and frozen veggie. I could also live off sweet potatoes for dinner every night, but I like to spice it up every now and then.

So one or two nights of the week (usually on my days off), I will set aside some time to cook a meal that will give me leftovers for a few days. I will freeze a few, and take out as I want it throughout the week.

The other night, I was craving eggplant parmesan. I came home from the gym, and I was inspired. However, I did not want to wait too long to bake my dish since it is a long process. Besides the obvious slicing and dicing, you need to bake the eggplant typically before even layering it with all your other ingredients. So I whipped out my panini press (they do come in handy) and grilled my eggplant, and voila…grilled eggplant parmesan.

Did I mention I had no ricotta cheese?

Oh don’t worry, I got that covered.

Skinny Eggplant Parmesan
(Serves 4)

skinnyeggplantparm2

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium eggplant
  • 2 cups tomato sauce (home-made or from the jar)
  • 1 cup no-added salt 1% cottage cheese (or can sub with cottage cheese you have)
  • 3 tbsp liquid egg whites
  • 2-3 tbsp parmesan cheese
  • oregano
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 cup part-skim mozzarella cheese

Instructions:

  1. Slice the eggplant into 1/4 inch thick slices. Preheat your panini press (if you have one) or grill, and coat with non-stick cooking spray. Grill eggplant on both sides for about 2-3 minutes.
  2. Preheat  oven to 400 F.
  3. In a medium bowl combine cottage cheese, egg whites, oregano and parmesan cheese.
  4. In a 9×12 baking dish, put a little sauce on the bottom of the dish and put a layer of eggplant to cover the bottom of the dish. Top with 1/3 of the cottage cheese mixture, mozzarella cheese and sauce. Add another layer of eggplant and repeat the cottage cheese, mozzarella cheese and sauce until everything is used up. Top with sauce and the mozzarella cheese, and additional grated parmesan cheese if desired.
  5. Cover with foil and bake until cheese is melted and everything is bubbling, about 30 minutes at 400 F. Remove foil and bake an additional 8-10 minutes. Take it out of the oven and let it sit about 10 minutes before cutting. Pair it with a side of spaghetti, ziti, or penne. Enjoy!

skinnyeggplantparm

Leave a Reply

