Five Favorite Post-Workout Snacks

If you are looking for some healthy snack ideas for post-workout, then read on because I think today’s post will be of interest to you! I have been very active for most of my life; playing soccer for most of grade school, and also participating in cross country and track & field, I had no idea how to properly fuel myself. I ate whatever I wanted, when I wanted. That meant eating a bag of chips after track practice because I had nothing in me for 5-6 hours. However, now that I educated myself in nutrition during college and had been a student-athlete, I have learned a few things (or several).

What most people lack knowledge of is how replenishing yourself after a workout is important not only in your diet but also recovery. You want to make sure you feed your body to aid in muscle tissue repair and replenish glycogen stores. The time frame of when you eat your snack is also important. Generally 15 minutes to an hour after working out is optimal to ensure your body restores its energy levels.

Not only is it important that you eat a snack, but it’s also important what is that you eat. For example, do not follow 16-year old me’s advice and eat a bag of potato chips. Instead, find a snack that has a good balance of carbohydrates(30-40 grams) and protein(10-20 grams). You do not want your snack to be huge, but just enough to refuel your stores until you have your larger meal.

Here are my top 5 healthy post-workout snacks:

#1. Apple with Peanut Butter


1 small apple (or half of a medium) with 1 tablespoon of natural creamy peanut butter.

#2. Baby Carrots with Hummus


20 Baby Carrots with 2 tablespoon of Hummus

#3. Greek Yogurt with Berries and Granola


6 oz container of Non-fat Plain (or Vanilla) Greek Yogurt mixed with cinnamon, 1/4 cup fresh blueberries and 1 tablespoon low-sugar granola (such as Purely Elizabeth)

#4: Chocolate Milk and Banana


8 ounces of Chocolate Milk (Low Fat or Skim) and 1 small (or half of a medium) banana

#5. Whole Wheat Toast with Avocado

1 slice of whole-wheat toast with 2 tablespoon (mashed or diced) avocado

If you want some more healthy snack ideas and NUTricious facts, check out Nuts.com for some more inspiration!

2 thoughts on “Five Favorite Post-Workout Snacks

Leave a Reply

