What I Ate Wednesday – Dietetic Intern Edition

Happy Wednesday Everyone!

Today I am going to participate in my first What I Ate Wednesday (Dietetic Intern Edition) which will show you what I typically eat in a day as a dietetic intern.

If you want to learn more about the “What I Ate Wednesday” link-up, you can read about it here on Peas and Crayons blog 🙂

So without further ado, here is my daily eats as a vegetarian and dietetic intern!

WIAW

 

I started my morning off with a beautiful run with some friends. I usually start off my mornings with a run. Lately, I have been meeting up with a couple of friends in the area since my current rotation is only 15 minutes away and I don’t need to be there until 9 am.Getting my run done first thing in the morning makes me feel good for the rest of the day, and so I can relax later on.

After showering and getting ready for my rotation, I sit down to breakfast at home which usually consists of coffee and oatmeal. Today I had Baked Apple-Blueberry Oatmeal Pudding which is a recipe I found on a blog. You can find the recipe here or check out my instagram feed @runsonoats for my adapted recipe.

IMG_9633

I used non-fat plain Greek yogurt as opposed to the original recipe which uses whole-fat plain yogurt, which was better because I was able to skip the first step of the recipe 🙂

Then I went to my community rotation for the day at Island Harvest. My preceptor was gone for the day, so I went out with the inspector to go to a couple of food pantries. It was an amazing experience, and so inspiring to see all the generous donations that make a difference in people’s lives.

I was pretty famished when I got back; lunch was left-over Caesar salad with chickpeas, and my favorite Siggi’s skyr yogurt.

IMG_9635

Not the prettiest lunch, but it was easy! 😉

IMG_9638

My favorite new flavor of siggi’s. If you haven’t tried this brand of yogurt, you are missing out. It is thicker than Greek yogurt, and just look at the macros! You can basically find this brand in any supermarket now including Target!

Later in the afternoon I made a Target run for Starbucks and chocolate (I always need an afternoon pick-me-up of coffee), and I found this new flavor of gum by Project 7!

IMG_9644

This flavor was spot on by the way, not artificial tasting at all and the flavor lasts a pretty long time too! You should check out all the flavors they offer. I have not seen too many of the flavors around me, but they also have flavors like birthday cake, key lime pie, and cookie dough.

Once I arrived home, I started to prepare dinner.

IMG_9654

I decided to make spaghetti squash stir-fry with teriyaki chick’n strips by Gardein. The spaghetti squash was huge, so my trick is to poke holes in it and microwave for 5-10 minutes (depending on the size). Then I cut the squash in half, remove the seeds, and place them side down on a baking sheet and bake at 350 F for approximately 30 minutes until fork tender. While that was baking, I stir-fried some frozen vegetables in olive oil, garlic, and the teriyaki chick’n strips. When the squash was fork tender, I transferred about half of the squash into the skillet and mixed it all up! It made enough for left-overs for another night!

IMG_9655

I had that along with a slice of Irish soda bread which my neighbor baked.
It is the best Irish soda bead ever!

The rest of the night was dedicated to relaxing, catching up with a friend via Skype, and watching Dance Moms.

IMG_9658

My evening snack was a cup of chocolate milk and a ton of this amazing kettle corn popcorn by Indiana Popcorn. I am not going to lie, but this may be the most addicting popcorn ever.

 

  • What is your favorite breakfast?
  • Do you usually prep your lunch for work, school, etc.?
Leave a Reply

